NY · Campus
State University of New York (SUNY) Downstate Health Sciences University
Location not verified, NY · Accreditation
Application cycle: 2026-2027 · Directory checked 2026-10-29
Application timing
Final Deadline: December 15, 2026 · Rolling admissions: Yes · Additional timing instructions on the source page.
A past date remains past; no date is advanced to a future year. Confirm whether the program requires submission, completion, or verification by its deadline.
Observation experience
50 minimum hours; licensed PT verification required. Additional program-specific setting, timing, or documentation rules are published; review the linked source.
View observation settings and accepted experience
PT Experience Acceptable Individuals to Observe
| Experience | Policy | Min. hours | Max. hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| Physical Therapist (PT) | Required | — | — |
| Physical Therapist Assistant (PTA) | Not Accepted | — | — |
| Other | Not Accepted | — | — |
PT Experience: Type
| Experience | Policy | Min. hours | Max. hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| In Person | Accepted/Considered | — | — |
| Virtual/Telehealth | Not Accepted | — | — |
| Hybrid In-Person/ Virtual | Accepted/Considered | — | — |
PT Experience: Recognition
| Experience | Policy | Min. hours | Max. hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| Paid | Accepted/Considered | — | — |
| Volunteer | Accepted/Considered | — | — |
PT Experience: Setting Inpatient
| Experience | Policy | Min. hours | Max. hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acute Care Hospital | Accepted/Considered | — | — |
| Nursing Home/ Skilled Nursing Facility/ Extended Care Facility | Accepted/Considered | — | — |
| Rehabilitation/ Sub-acute Rehabilitation | Accepted/Considered | — | — |
| Other Inpatient Facility | Accepted/Considered | — | — |
PT Experience: Setting Outpatient
| Experience | Policy | Min. hours | Max. hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free-standing PT or Hospital Clinic | Accepted/Considered | — | — |
| Home Health | Accepted/Considered | — | — |
| Industrial/ Ocupational Health | Accepted/Considered | — | — |
| School/ Pre-school | Accepted/Considered | — | — |
| Wellness/ Prevention/ Fitness Facility | Accepted/Considered | — | — |
| Other Outpatient Facility | Accepted/Considered | — | — |
PT Experience: Setting Other
| Experience | Policy | Min. hours | Max. hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| Attended PT Session as Patient | Not Accepted | — | — |
| Attended PT Session w/ Family Member | Not Accepted | — | — |
| Observe Non-PT/PTA Healthcare Provider | Not Accepted | — | — |
| Special Olympics Volunteer | Not Accepted | — | — |
| HOSA: Future Health Professionals PT Competitive Event Participant | Not Accepted | — | — |
| Other | Not Accepted | — | — |
Blank hour limits are unspecified. Narrative conditions may further restrict these categories.
Hours alone do not establish eligibility. Check accepted settings, supervision, verification and completion timing.
GRE
Required
Save program & plan →Tuition and published program costs
SUNY Downstate's bursar page identifies DPT full-time and per-credit tuition, but the reviewed table does not state its applicable academic year.
Rate period: Effective academic year not stated
- The page also contains undergraduate PT and OTD rates; only the DPT doctoral cells were retained. Obtain a current-year rate confirmation.
PTCAS COMBINED PROGRAM COST
- In-state
- $84,215
- Out-of-state
- $117,731
Full-program tuition, fees and other program costs combined; not tuition alone or a complete living-cost budget. Reported in cycle 2026-2027; the rate year is not separately specified. Do not substitute this figure for tuition in your budget.
Published prerequisites
Review the official source for minimum grades, outstanding-course limits, substitutions and course recency exceptions.
3 semester credits; Lab: required; Level: General or College; Maximum course age: 10 years; Four-year institution required: no.
Accepted course categories
A&P: Advanced; A&P: COMBINED Course (eg. A&P); A&P: Human; A&P: SEPARATE courses; Biology: General; A&P: Animal; A&P: Comparative; A&P: Mammalian; A&P: Vertebrate; A&P: Physiology; Biology: General I
Program-specific notes apply; read the prerequisite tab on the official profile.
3 semester credits; Lab: required; Level: General or College; Maximum course age: 10 years; Four-year institution required: no.
Accepted course categories
A&P: Advanced; A&P: COMBINED Course (eg. A&P); A&P: Human; A&P: SEPARATE courses; A&P: Animal; A&P: Comparative; A&P: Mammalian; A&P: Vertebrate
Program-specific notes apply; read the prerequisite tab on the official profile.
4 semester credits; Lab: required; Level: General or College; Maximum course age: 10 years; Four-year institution required: no.
Accepted course categories
Biology: Any
Program-specific notes apply; read the prerequisite tab on the official profile.
4 semester credits; Lab: required; Level: General or College; Maximum course age: 10 years; Four-year institution required: no.
Accepted course categories
Chemistry I; Chemistry: Inorganic
Program-specific notes apply; read the prerequisite tab on the official profile.
4 semester credits; Lab: required; Level: General or College; Maximum course age: 10 years; Four-year institution required: no.
Accepted course categories
Chemistry II; Chemistry: Inorganic
Program-specific notes apply; read the prerequisite tab on the official profile.
4 semester credits; Lab: required; Level: General or College; Maximum course age: 10 years; Four-year institution required: no.
Accepted course categories
Physics I; Physics: General
Program-specific notes apply; read the prerequisite tab on the official profile.
4 semester credits; Lab: required; Level: General or College; Maximum course age: 10 years; Four-year institution required: no.
Accepted course categories
Physics II; Physics: General
Program-specific notes apply; read the prerequisite tab on the official profile.
3 semester credits; Lab: not applicable; Level: General or College; Four-year institution required: no.
Accepted course categories
Psychology: Advanced; Psychology: Death & Dying; Psychology: Human Behavior; Psychology: Rehabilitation; Psychology: Abnormal; Psychology: Developmental; Psychology: Life Span Development; Psychology: Social; Psychology: Adolescent; Psychology: Child; Psychology: Growth & Development; Psychology: Psychopathology; Psychology: Sports
3 semester credits; Lab: not applicable; Level: General or College; Four-year institution required: no.
Accepted course categories
Mathematics: Statistics; Psychology: Statistics; Business: Statistics; Biology: Biostatistics
9 (three 3-credit courses) semester credits; Lab: not applicable; Level: Upper Division; Four-year institution required: yes.
Accepted course categories
Any three upper division courses from the same department, such as history, biology, etc.
Program-specific notes apply; read the prerequisite tab on the official profile.
Accreditation entries linked to this profile
- SUNY (State University of New York) Downstate Health Sciences University — Brooklyn, NY · Accreditation
A shared profile does not establish identical requirements or tuition at every campus. Confirm your intended campus and entry term.
Official sources
PTCAS current-cycle program profile ↗
Institutional prerequisite page linked by PTCAS ↗
CAPTE / APTA accreditation directory ↗
Official institutional source reviewed in tuition follow-up ↗
Official institutional source reviewed in tuition follow-up ↗