← All programs

TX · Campus

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas

Dallas, TX · Accreditation

Application cycle: 2026-2027 · Directory checked 2026-10-29

PrerequisitesPTCAS source checked2026-10-29
DeadlinesPTCAS source checked2026-10-29
ObservationPTCAS source checked2026-10-29
TuitionCurrent published rate2026-10-29
Current-cycle PTCAS fields checked on 2026-10-29. Institutional cross-checking is incomplete. Blank values never mean a requirement is waived.

Application timing

Final Deadline: October 15, 2026 · Rolling admissions: No · Additional timing instructions on the source page.

A past date remains past; no date is advanced to a future year. Confirm whether the program requires submission, completion, or verification by its deadline.

Observation experience

Observation required; numeric minimum not stated; source policy does not require verification; 250 hours recommended.

View observation settings and accepted experience

PT Experience Acceptable Individuals to Observe

ExperiencePolicyMin. hoursMax. hours
Physical Therapist (PT)Required——
Physical Therapist Assistant (PTA)Not Accepted——
OtherNot Accepted——

PT Experience: Type

ExperiencePolicyMin. hoursMax. hours
In PersonRequired——
Virtual/TelehealthNot Accepted——
Hybrid In-Person/ VirtualNot Accepted——

PT Experience: Recognition

ExperiencePolicyMin. hoursMax. hours
PaidAccepted/Considered——
VolunteerAccepted/Considered——

PT Experience: Setting Inpatient

ExperiencePolicyMin. hoursMax. hours
Acute Care HospitalAccepted/Considered——
Nursing Home/ Skilled Nursing Facility/ Extended Care FacilityAccepted/Considered——
Rehabilitation/ Sub-acute RehabilitationAccepted/Considered——
Other Inpatient FacilityAccepted/Considered——

PT Experience: Setting Outpatient

ExperiencePolicyMin. hoursMax. hours
Free-standing PT or Hospital ClinicAccepted/Considered——
Home HealthAccepted/Considered——
Industrial/ Ocupational HealthAccepted/Considered——
School/ Pre-schoolAccepted/Considered——
Wellness/ Prevention/ Fitness FacilityAccepted/Considered——
Other Outpatient FacilityAccepted/Considered——

PT Experience: Setting Other

ExperiencePolicyMin. hoursMax. hours
Attended PT Session as PatientNot Accepted——
Attended PT Session w/ Family MemberNot Accepted——
Observe Non-PT/PTA Healthcare ProviderAccepted/Considered——
Special Olympics VolunteerNot Accepted——
HOSA: Future Health Professionals PT Competitive Event ParticipantNot Accepted——
OtherNot Accepted——

Blank hour limits are unspecified. Narrative conditions may further restrict these categories.

Hours alone do not establish eligibility. Check accepted settings, supervision, verification and completion timing.

GRE

Required

Save program & plan →

Tuition and published program costs

$366 resident / $794 nonresident tuition per credit: statutory tuition plus $316 designated tuition.

Rate period: 2026-2027

  • Only explicit statutory and designated tuition components are added. Mandatory institutional, course, program and insurance charges are separate.

PTCAS COMBINED PROGRAM COST

In-state
$49,500
Out-of-state
$97,000

Full-program tuition, fees and other program costs combined; not tuition alone or a complete living-cost budget. Reported in cycle 2026-2027; the rate year is not separately specified. Do not substitute this figure for tuition in your budget.

Published prerequisites

Review the official source for minimum grades, outstanding-course limits, substitutions and course recency exceptions.

Anatomy

4 semester credits; Lab: required; Level: General or College; Four-year institution required: no.

Accepted course categories

A&P: COMBINED Course (eg. A&P); A&P: Vertebrate; A&P: SEPARATE courses; A&P: Advanced; A&P: Comparative; A&P: Human; A&P: Mammalian

Biology / Biological Science

4 semester credits; Lab: recommended; Level: General or College; Four-year institution required: no.

Accepted course categories

Biology: Advanced; Biology: Cell; Biology: Embryology; Biology: General; Biology: Genetics; Biology: Histology; Biology: Immunology; Biology: Microbiology; Biology: Molecular; Biology: Zoology; Chemistry: Biochemistry; Biology: General I

Program-specific notes apply; read the prerequisite tab on the official profile.

Biology / Biological Science

4 semester credits; Lab: recommended; Level: General or College; Four-year institution required: no.

Accepted course categories

Biology: Advanced; Biology: Cell; Biology: Embryology; Biology: General; Biology: Genetics; Biology: Histology; Biology: Immunology; Biology: Microbiology; Biology: Molecular; Biology: Zoology; Chemistry: Biochemistry; Biology: General II

Program-specific notes apply; read the prerequisite tab on the official profile.

Chemistry

4 semester credits; Lab: required; Level: General or College; Four-year institution required: no.

Accepted course categories

Chemistry: Advanced; Chemistry: Biochemistry; Chemistry: Inorganic; Chemistry: Organic

Program-specific notes apply; read the prerequisite tab on the official profile.

Chemistry

4 semester credits; Lab: required; Level: General or College; Four-year institution required: no.

Accepted course categories

Chemistry: Advanced; Chemistry: Biochemistry; Chemistry: Inorganic; Chemistry: Organic

Program-specific notes apply; read the prerequisite tab on the official profile.

Math

3 semester credits; Lab: not applicable; Level: General or College; Four-year institution required: no.

Accepted course categories

Mathematics: Algebra; Mathematics: Calculus; Mathematics: Geometry; Mathematics: Pre-Calculus; Mathematics: Trigonometry

Program-specific notes apply; read the prerequisite tab on the official profile.

Physics

4 semester credits; Lab: required; Level: General or College; Four-year institution required: no.

Accepted course categories

Physics: General; Physics II

Program-specific notes apply; read the prerequisite tab on the official profile.

Physics

4 semester credits; Lab: required; Level: General or College; Four-year institution required: no.

Accepted course categories

Physics I; Physics: General

Program-specific notes apply; read the prerequisite tab on the official profile.

Physiology

4 semester credits; Lab: required; Level: General or College; Four-year institution required: no.

Accepted course categories

A&P: COMBINED Course (eg. A&P); A&P: Physiology; A&P: Vertebrate; A&P: SEPARATE courses; A&P: Advanced; A&P: Comparative; A&P: Human; A&P: Mammalian

Psychology

3 semester credits; Lab: not applicable; Level: General or College; Four-year institution required: no.

Accepted course categories

Psychology: Abnormal; Psychology: Developmental; Psychology: Growth & Development; Psychology: Life Span Development

Psychology

3 semester credits; Lab: not applicable; Level: General or College; Four-year institution required: no.

Accepted course categories

Psychology: General I; Psychology: General; Psychology: General II

Statistics

3 semester credits; Lab: not required; Level: General or College; Four-year institution required: no.

Accepted course categories

Biology: Biostatistics; Business: Statistics; Mathematics: Statistics; Psychology: Statistics

Program-specific notes apply; read the prerequisite tab on the official profile.

Accreditation entries linked to this profile

A shared profile does not establish identical requirements or tuition at every campus. Confirm your intended campus and entry term.

Official sources

PTCAS current-cycle program profile ↗

Official program website ↗

Institutional prerequisite page linked by PTCAS ↗

CAPTE / APTA accreditation directory ↗

Official school / governing university source, follow-up review ↗

Institutional cost source ↗

Institutional cost source ↗

How source checks differ from completed verification →